Where I’m From

Where I’m From

I am from stuffed animals

I am from a soft night light and a ragged blanket

I am from the rusty swing set that fell apart

I am from the Sunday morning cartoons and half eaten boxes of cereal

I am from laughing till my sides hurt

Pulling each breath through as if it were a race

As if I could win

I am from a voice that needed to be repeated often

I am from having lopsided hearing

I am from sharp shouts laced with soft love

I am from quiet tears and joyful smiles

I am from the culturally removed

And the culturally innovated

From ‘you’re the oldest,’ and ‘it’s okay,’

I’m from Sundays spent in a classroom

Silk scarf slipping over my eyes

I am from broken promises and forged dreams

I am from the promise of one thing

And the reality of another

I am from the first flitterings of love

And the first crashes of heartbreak

I am from the guilt of gossip

And the relief of forgiveness

I am from missed opportunities

I am from new experiences

I am from shy voices

I am from the smell of new books

I am from half completed journals

I am from art projects that hung proudly on walls

I am from certificates and rewards

I am from learning friendship

I am from the stress of friends

The stress of teachers

The stress of final exams

I am from knowing

That every end has a new beginning

And that everything

Happens for a reason.

 

One thought on “Where I’m From

Leave a Reply

